Greenville · Greenville Police Department
How to Pull a Greenville Police Crash Report in Pitt County
The city's eCrash Online search finds a Greenville Police Department crash report by street name, driver's name, date of the crash or report number, with protected details removed. A paper copy comes from the 500 South Greene Street Records window, free for people listed on the report and $5.00 for anyone else. If you cannot find it, call me anyway.

The agency that investigated your crash holds the report, and inside Greenville that is usually the Greenville Police Department. ECU Police, the State Highway Patrol and other agencies write reports for some crashes in and around the city, and NCDMV gives out copies of law enforcement reports, with its certification, under G.S. 20-166.1(i).
This page covers the eCrash search, paper copies and the city fee, what the online copy removes and what the form records, ECU Police requests, Greenville crashes with no city report, and the NCDMV route.
01
Searching eCrash Online for a Greenville Police crash report
eCrash Online is the City of Greenville's search for DMV-349 crash reports completed by the Greenville Police Department. The city says the database holds crashes from January 1, 2011 forward and is updated daily, and it publishes reports as they are approved for public release, Monday through Friday.
Pick one search detail
Greenville's search accepts the date, a driver's name, the crash street or a report number written like the city's example, 2013-12345.
Run the search from the Police Reports page
Open eCrash Online from the city's Police Reports page. A report goes up once it is approved for public release on a weekday, so check again if a recent crash is missing.
Print it or keep a PDF
The city's crash report site lets you print the copy it provides or save it electronically in PDF format.
Write down the report number from the search result. It takes you straight back to the same report at the Records window or on our first call.
02
Paper copies from Greenville's Records window and the $5.00 fee
The Greenville Police Department gives out reports in person at the Records window in its front lobby at 500 South Greene Street. That window is open from 9:00 AM to 4:30 PM, Monday through Friday, and closed on recognized City holidays.
| Who is asking | Where the city points you | Cost the city states |
|---|---|---|
| A person listed on the report | A printed paper copy | No cost |
| A person not listed on the report | Greenville Police Department Records Section | $5.00 |
| Anyone wanting a DMV-349 copy with certification | North Carolina Department of Transportation | Set by the state, below |
The city lists 252.329.4325 for questions about accidents, case reports, arrest reports and permits. I would call that number before driving over.
Exception. The Greenville Police Department does not provide a DMV-349 copy bearing certification, and the city says its online copy carries none. For a copy with certification, Greenville points you to the state Department of Transportation instead.
03
What the Greenville online copy removes, and what the DMV-349 records
The city calls its eCrash copy public record, citing G.S. 132-1.4, and it strips protected information before posting; Greenville also states that this copy has no certification. The city says a North Carolina statute requires it to hold back certain types of personally identifiable information.
On the Rev. 4/2018 DMV-349 that Greenville investigators complete, each vehicle owner's entry carries an Insurance Company line and a Policy # line, and the form also records the Authorized Speed Limit, an Estimate of Speed at Impact and a Traffic Violation(s) block. It also carries a witness section, a narrative and a diagram, and it names the investigating officer, the department and the date of the report.
The DMV-349 prints its own limits on its face. It says the data is collected for statistical analysis and highway safety programming, and that determinations of fault are the responsibility of insurers or of the state's courts.
The report is where a claim starts, not where fault gets decided. Get a copy in hand before an insurance adjuster calls you.
The report is where a claim starts, not where fault gets decided.
04
Requesting an ECU Police report for a crash on campus
An East Carolina University Police Department report is requested from ECU, not from the city. The ECU Police FAQ says the request has to be in writing, through the online Police Report Request form or a paper form picked up at the department at 609 East Tenth Street.
After ECU receives the written request, its FAQ puts the report at Police Dispatch for pickup in approximately five business days, and ECU charges nothing for this service. Questions go to the ECU Records Clerk at 252-737-4080.
ECU Police Department
Written request only. Pickup at Police Dispatch in about five business days, at no charge, per the ECU FAQ.
Greenville Police Department
An eCrash Online search, or a paper copy from the Records window on South Greene Street with the city's $5.00 fee for people not listed.
The paper form, ECUPD 500.07, asks for the report number, the name of a person involved, the date and time and type of incident, and the location. For a mailed report, the form asks for a stamped, self-addressed return envelope.
05
Greenville crashes with no city report, or a civilian's report
A Greenville crash on private ground gets no Greenville Police crash report, because Traffic Crash Reporting policy 61.2.1 excludes personal and private property. A fender bender in a store lot or a private driveway produces no city DMV-349 to search for.
Exception. A gated community is public property for this purpose under policy 61.2.1, so the private property rule does not reach a crash inside one.
G.S. 20-166.1(e) has the appropriate law enforcement agency investigate a reportable accident. A crash counts as reportable under G.S. 20-4.01(33b) when someone is killed or hurt, or when property damage totals at least $1,000.
Reports written by Greenville's civilian crash investigators
A civilian from the Traffic Safety Unit can handle a Greenville crash that damaged only property. G.S. 160A-499.6(b)(8) has that civilian's report treated as if an officer completed it, for purposes of G.S. 20-166.1(i), the subsection that makes officer reports public records.
06
NCDMV's copy, and Patrol reports from outside Greenville
Under G.S. 20-166.1(i), NCDMV must hand over a copy of an officer's crash report, with certification, to anyone who requests it and pays, and G.S. 20-42(b) puts that accident report fee at $6.50. NCDMV takes no online orders from individuals, so a person mails form TR-67A, and the agency's page puts processing at 10 business days from receipt.
| Where you ask | How | Cost stated | Timing stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Greenville Police, eCrash Online | Online search | Not stated for the search | Published as approved, weekdays |
| Greenville Police Records window | In person, 500 South Greene Street | Free if listed, $5.00 if not | Not stated |
| ECU Police Department | Written request | No charge | About five business days |
| NCDMV | Form TR-67A by mail | $6.50 | Allow 10 business days |
Outside Greenville, G.S. 20-166.1(a) assigns a Pitt County crash to the Highway Patrol, to the sheriff, or to qualified rural police of the county. The NCDMV request reaches that report too, since G.S. 20-166.1(i) covers reports made by law enforcement officers.
With your report in hand, the Greenville crash attorney page covers the Pitt County courthouse and the visit, the Greenville crash numbers page covers the 2024 figures, and the contact page reaches me.
Questions
Common questions
Can I get my Greenville crash report the same day as the crash?
The city's pages give no same-day timeline. Under G.S. 20-166.1(e), an officer who investigates a reportable crash has 24 hours to put the report in writing, and Greenville posts reports to eCrash Online as they are approved for public release on weekdays.
What if eCrash Online shows nothing for my Greenville crash?
Try another field the city offers, such as the crash date or the street name. If the crash happened on ECU property, the report sits with ECU Police. Outside the city limits it sits with the Patrol or another county-level agency G.S. 20-166.1(a) names, and a crash on private property leaves no city report.
Do I need the Greenville report before I call you?
No. Call me with it or without it. If you have the eCrash report number or the paper copy from South Greene Street, keep it nearby when we talk, and if you do not, we start from what you remember.

About the attorney
Julian Doby, attorney since 1998
Julian Doby has been admitted to practice in North Carolina since 1998, North Carolina State Bar No. 25407, and he represents injured people across the state. His one office is at 110 W. Elm Street in Graham. He meets clients across the state after a first conversation by phone or video.
More about JulianSources and verification (12)
- City of Greenville, Police Reports service page (fees, G.S. 132-1.4, certified copies), verified October 18, 2026.
- City of Greenville, Police Reports (eCrash Online, Records window, hours, phone), verified October 18, 2026.
- NCDMV, Crash Report Form DMV-349, Rev. 4/2018, verified October 18, 2026.
- East Carolina University Police Department, Frequently Asked Questions (modified December 2, 2025), verified October 18, 2026.
- East Carolina University Police Department, Police Report Request form ECUPD 500.07, verified October 18, 2026.
- N.C. Gen. Stat. 116-40.5(a) and (b), ncleg.gov, verified October 18, 2026.
- Greenville Police Department Policy and Procedures, Chapter 61 Traffic (61.1.5 Uniform Enforcement Policy; 61.2.1 Traffic Crash Reporting), revised January 4, 2025, reissued March 7, 2025, verified October 18, 2026.
- N.C. Gen. Stat. 20-166.1(e) and (i), ncleg.gov, verified October 18, 2026.
- N.C. Gen. Stat. 20-4.01(33b), ncleg.gov, verified October 18, 2026.
- N.C. Gen. Stat. 160A-499.6(b)(8), ncleg.gov, verified October 18, 2026.
- NCDMV, Order a Crash Report (form TR-67A, 10 business days), verified October 18, 2026.
- N.C. Gen. Stat. 20-42(b), ncleg.gov, verified October 18, 2026.
Have your Greenville report? Talk first.
Call or send a visit request. We start by phone or video, and then I can come to you.